Law Office Of Eric B. Hannum Esq., LLC.

Get Your Questions Answered - Call Me For Your Free, 20 Minute Phone Consultation: (732) 365-3299

Possible Consequences Of Driving With A Suspended Driver’s License

  • By: Eric Hannum, Esq.
  • Published: October 2, 2020
Possible Consequences Of Driving With A Suspended Driver’s License

An individual’s driver’s license may be suspended for a variety of reasons. Failing to pay his or her child support obligation, being charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), and acquiring too many points on his or her driver’s license are all reasons why the state might opt to suspend an individual’s driving privileges.

When your driver’s license is suspended, you are prohibited from driving under any circumstances. In New Jersey, you can not obtain a “hardship license,” which is a limited driver’s license that allows an individual to drive to work and other necessary places like doctor’s appointments and his or her child’s school. If you are caught driving while your license is suspended, you can face significant consequences.

Penalties For Driving On A Suspended License

For a first offense, an individual may face a $500 fine. For a second offense, he or she may face a $750 fine and a jail term of up to five days. For an individual’s third offense, he or she may face up to ten days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

In addition to these penalties, an individual may face penalties specific to the reason why his or her license was suspended or if additional conditions are met. For example, an individual who is involved in a collision that injures another person while his or her license is suspended, he or she may face 45 to 180 days in jail. If the individual’s driver’s license was suspended because of a DWI charge, he or she may face 10 to 90 days in jail.

Reinstating Your Driver’s License

When your suspension is over, you need to reinstate your license. It is not reinstated automatically. You need to go to the Motor Vehicle Commission and pay a reinstatement fee of up to $100 to have your license reinstated. Even if your suspension period expires, driving without having your license reinstated is illegal.

New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorneys

Having your driver’s license suspended makes everything more difficult. Getting to work, getting to school, and getting to the store to get the things you need are all much more difficult when you need to rely on a friend, loved one, or public transportation for a ride. If you are facing a charge of driving while your license was suspended, you could be facing significant penalties. Work with our team of experienced criminal defense attorneys at The Law Office of Eric B. Hannum Esq., LLC. today to discuss your case during your free legal consultation. We proudly serve clients throughout Mercer, Middlesex, Ocean, Monmouth, and Burlington counties.

Eric Hannum, Esq.

The Law Office of Eric B. Hannum Esq., LLC prides itself
on the experience and the ability to handle a wide
range of legal issues - Call Us Now - (732) 365-3299

accessibility accessibility -->
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U