Law Office Of Eric B. Hannum Esq., LLC.

Get Your Questions Answered - Call Me For Your Free, 20 Minute Phone Consultation: (732) 365-3299

Prepare To Protect Your Rights In A DWI Case

Prepare To Protect Your Rights In A DWI Case Lawyer, Manasquan, NJIn this article, you can discover:
  • How you can best handle a DWI arrest in New Jersey
  • Why you will still need a lawyer if you plan on pleading guilty
  • What steps you should take after being released from police custody

What Is Important To Know After A DWI Arrest In Ocean County, Monmouth County, Or Middlesex County?

After an arrest for DWI (Driving While Intoxicated), it is important to remember that until there is a conviction, your license remains unaffected. This is because, in America, you are innocent until proven guilty; the state must prove you were under the influence of alcohol or drugs while driving. Therefore, until that time, you are able to continue your normal driving habits. However, if you are convicted of a DWI, your license will be suspended immediately after the judge’s ruling. Once you have installed an ignition interlock device on your primary vehicle, your license can typically be reinstated. To demonstrate this, you must pay a fee of $100 and your driver’s license will be valid again. You must maintain the interlock device on your vehicle for a period of time, ranging from 30-90 days, depending on the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) you were tested at.

What Are The Consequences Of Refusing A Breath Test During A DWI Arrest?

In New Jersey, refusing to provide breath samples during a DWI arrest can have severe consequences. However, if we can demonstrate that there was no probable cause for the stop, or that you did not actually refuse to give breath samples, then this charge could be dismissed. On the contrary, if we cannot prove the above, then the refusal charge could carry similar penalties to a separate DWI charge. This means that you would be charged with both the DWI and the refusal offense.

After Being Released From A Police Custody, What Are The Most Important Steps To Take?

Hiring an attorney is the best first step to take after being charged with a DWI in New Jersey. It is important to sit down with an attorney to understand your options and the potential consequences. Courts usually require an attorney to represent those charged with a DWI because of the severity of the penalties they may face, such as a loss of license. An attorney can help determine whether you are eligible for a public defender.

If A DWI Is Not A Criminal Offense In New Jersey, Does That Mean That I Won’t Go To Jail If I Am Convicted?

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a motor vehicle offense in New Jersey and not a criminal offense. However, in certain circumstances, jail time may be a possible consequence. Depending on the number of DWI convictions, jail time could be given. If an accident or injury is associated with the DWI charge, there is the potential to be incarcerated. There may also be the possibility of a vehicular homicide conviction if someone has been killed in the crash. This could result in a jail sentence if found guilty.

If I Just Plan On Pleading Guilty To A DWI Charge, Do I Still Need A Criminal Defense Attorney?

Most judges will not permit a DWI defendant to plead guilty to a DWI charge due to its severe repercussions, such as the loss of license. Instead, they will require either the appointment of a separate legal counsel or a public defender, as the plea could have significant impacts on the defendant’s life going forward. With the guidance of a skilled attorney for DWI Law Cases, you can have the peace of mind that comes with knowing that we’ll make it look easy.  For more information on DWI Law in New Jersey, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (732) 365-3299 today.
Eric Hannum, Esq.

Get Your Questions Answered - Call Me
For Your Free, 20 Minute Phone
Consultation: (732) 365-3299

accessibility accessibility -->
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U